The 10 new member states (NMS) – Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia – have upon accession to the European Union (EU) made a commitment to contribute to the EU Development Co-operation Policy (EDCP), and in particular to meet specific targets of official development assistance (ODA) as a percentage of gross national income (GNI). They have also pledged to work towards the fulfilment of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals, a set of targets drawn up in 2000, including a halving of the number of people living in extreme poverty and hunger, the achievement of universal primary education, and a two-thirds reduction in child mortality levels.

“The NMS tend towards development co-operation with countries with which they have either geographical or historical ties, combined with deploying comparative advantages, such as transition know-how, or limiting co-operation to a narrow range of sectors.” – Jon Ender

A set of recommendations in conclusion to this report point to the need for:

  • A concerted public awareness campaign to gather political and public support for increased ODA and an understanding of theUN Millennium Development Goals and development targets
  • Combining the existing comparative advantages in the eastern dimension with the application of select expertise in lessdeveloped countries
  • Co-operation among the NMS to strengthen the flexibility of the EU towards eastern ENP neighbours
  • Improving civil society and expert capacity in NMS to transfer know-how to ENP and less developed countries
  • Strengthening co-ordination agencies in NMS and between NMS and other EU member states
  • Setting of a target date to untie aid
  • Making good governance a priority contribution of NMS to EDCP